Skip to content
Heated Water Hoses

Buying guide

50 ft Heated Water Hoses: Wattage, Bore and What Doubles Compared With 25 ft

A 50 ft heated water hose is for sites where the spigot is more than about 28 ft from the inlet. Compared with 25 ft, the power draw doubles to 360 watts according to PIRIT and Miller, and the price rises sharply. Our 50 ft pick is the Camco 22912; the VEVOR hose costs far less, has a narrower 1/2 in bore and is known from seller data only, so it is not a pick.

by the editorial team updated October 11, 2026 8 min read

Disclosure: This page contains paid links to Amazon, marked with * or “paid link”. If you buy through them, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This site is financed by these commissions; products are selected by the criteria on our methodology page. How we compare · Learn more

The short version

Choose 50 ft only if a 30 ft hose does not reach. PIRIT and Miller list 360 W and 3 A at 120 V for their 50 ft hoses, twice the 25 ft figures. Our pick is the Camco 22912 from the −20 °F line, with a 5/8 in bore and a 3-year warranty on Camco's site. The VEVOR 50 ft hose costs less, has a 1/2 in bore and rests on seller data only; it is shown for comparison, not as a pick. All 50 ft must be laid out, never coiled.

Page index

When 50 ft is the right length

Most RV sites are served by 25 or 30 ft. A 50 foot heated water hose earns its price where the spigot stands at the far corner of the site, at a seasonal lot, or between a house spigot and a greenhouse or kennel. Measure along the ground first. If the run is under about 28 ft, the 25 and 30 ft hoses cost less, draw less and leave less hose to lay out.

50 ft pick

Camco 50 ft (22912)

Ad

Camco · Established brand

The 50 ft version of Camco's −20 °F line, for sites where the spigot is far from the inlet.

Why here: It is the 50 ft hose of the line that Camco documents on its own site: 5/8 in bore, −20 °F claim, drinking-water and lead-free statement and a 3-year warranty with receipt.

Best for: Long hook-ups at seasonal sites when you want the same brand and line as the 25 ft Camco hose.

What speaks for it

  • 5/8 in inner diameter (camcooutdoors.com)
  • Same −20 °F line as parts 22910 and 22911
  • Camco's own site lists a 3-year warranty with receipt

What to know first

  • No wattage published by Camco; PIRIT and Miller list double the 25 ft draw for their 50 ft hoses
  • Instruction sheet not available online
  • Costs several times as much as the low-priced 50 ft hoses
Length
50 ft
Rating (maker's claim)
−20 °F (Camco)
Inner diameter
5/8 in
Warranty
3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com)
Watts (maker)
not published by Camco
Price class
premium

The pick follows stated data, not a trial; the method is on how we compare. The open points are the same as for the shorter Camco hoses: no published wattage and no instruction sheet online.

Which 50 ft hose for whom

Pick by situation

  1. If you want the Camco line and a 5/8 in bore over the full 50 ft → Camco 50 ft (22912)

    View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
  2. If the run is under about 28 ft

  3. If you even 50 ft does not reach

What doubles compared with 25 ft

360 W
50 ft hose (PIRIT manual, Miller DH50)
3 A
Draw at 120 V
180 W
25 ft hose of the same makers, for comparison
50 ft
Must be laid out, never coiled (PIRIT)
25 ft50 ftSource
Watts180 W360 WPIRIT manual, Miller
Amps at 120 V1.5 A3.0 APIRIT manual, Miller
Price class of the Camco hosepremiumpremiumour research, October 2026
Camco wattagenot publishednot publishedCamco

Power. Both makers that publish figures list exactly twice the wattage for twice the length. Three amps is still a small load for the 15- or 20-ampere receptacle on a pedestal. A thermostat hose draws it only while heating: PIRIT ties that to air temperatures approaching freezing, Miller to temperatures below 40 °F.

Price. The 50 ft Camco hose costs clearly more than the 25 ft hose of the same line, and both sit in the premium price class. Budget-brand hoses of 50 ft sit in the mid-range price class. The button on each product shows the current price.

Hose on the ground. Fifty feet is a lot of hose to route around steps, tires and a picnic table. PIRIT writes: “Do not leave plugged in while hose is coiled as this can cause the hose to overheat and melt.” Plan a path where the whole hose lies flat and nobody drives over it.

Enter your own hours and electricity price to see what 360 W means on the bill:

Power-use calculator

Watts from the manufacturer × hours of heating × your electricity price. Nothing is sent anywhere; the math runs in your browser.

Source of the watt figure: PIRIT manual and Miller DH50: 360 W, 3 A

24 is the upper limit. A thermostat hose only heats in the cold: PIRIT says near freezing, Miller says below 40 °F.

Look it up on your bill or ask the campground. We do not assume a price.

Current at 120 V
3.00 A
20% of a 15 A receptacle · 10% of a 30 A hookup · 6% of a 50 A hookup
Energy for the period
259.2 kWh
Cost for the period
enter your price

Which limit applies depends on where the hose is plugged in: the pedestal's own 15 or 20 A receptacle, or an outlet fed through the RV.

Formulas: amps = watts ÷ 120 V · kWh = watts × hours × days ÷ 1,000 · cost = kWh × price.

The presets are the manufacturer figures from PIRIT and Miller. They are not Camco or VEVOR data. More background is on the page about power use.

Three 50 ft hoses side by side

This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare

Comparison: Camco 50 ft (22912), REHOSEUP 50 ft, VEVOR 50 ft (1/2 in)
Spec sheet50 ft pickCamco 50 ft (22912)Seller data onlyREHOSEUP 50 ftSeller data onlyVEVOR 50 ft (1/2 in)
Length50 ft50 ft50 ft
Rating (maker's claim)−20 °F (Camco)−45 °F (seller)−45 °F (listing title)
Inner diameter5/8 innot stated in the listing1/2 in (listing title)
Heat control–“self-regulating external thermostat” (seller)built-in thermostat (listing title)
Watts (maker)not published by Camconot publishednot confirmed
Certification named–nonenone found
Warranty3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com)“3-year service” in the listing text (seller)–
Price classpremiummid-rangemid-range
Best forLong hook-ups at seasonal sites when you want the same brand and line as the 25 ft Camco hose.50 ft runs when the Camco hose is too expensive and you would rather not commit to a 1/2 in bore.50 ft runs on a budget when a narrower bore and less flow are acceptable.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Data from manufacturers and listings, checked October 2026. A dash means no figure was published.

Only the Camco hose is a pick. The REHOSEUP and VEVOR columns are labeled “Seller data only”: their figures come from Amazon listings, and they are shown for comparison, not recommended.

A dash means that neither the maker nor the seller published a figure.

Camco 22912: the 50 ft pick

Camco's own page lists part 22912 as a 50 ft hose with a 5/8 in inner diameter, states “Prevents Freezing Down to -20°”, describes it as certified for drinking water and lead-free, names campers, livestock, agriculture and kennels as uses and gives a warranty of 3 years from date of purchase with receipt. The −20 °F figure is Camco's claim; no test method is named. The page carries cETLus in the product name.

What is missing: wattage, thermostat data and an instruction sheet. The 360 W in the table above belongs to PIRIT and Miller hoses, and it is only a plausible order of magnitude for other brands, not a Camco figure. The hose is in the premium price class. The brand's lines and warranty statements are on the Camco page.

Speaks for it

  • 5/8 in bore confirmed on Camco's own site
  • 3-year warranty with receipt (camcooutdoors.com)
  • Same −20 °F line as the 12 and 25 ft hoses

Speaks against it

  • No wattage published by Camco
  • Instruction sheet not available online
  • Costs several times as much as the low-priced 50 ft hoses

REHOSEUP 50 ft: the mid-range option

This is the 50 ft hose from the brand behind the 30 ft hose on the 25 and 30 ft page. Everything known about it comes from its listing. It is rated to −45 °F according to the seller, with a “self-regulating external thermostat” in the seller's words and no test method named. The listing names RV, camping, chicken coops and garden as uses and promises a “3-year service”. It names no certification body for drinking water, and neither its title nor its description states an inner diameter. No wattage, no manual and no manufacturer website were found.

Its place is between the other two: clearly cheaper than the Camco hose, in the mid-range price class. If the bore matters to you, ask the seller before you order, because the listing leaves it open.

Speaks for it

  • Mid-range price class, well under the 50 ft Camco hose
  • Rated to −45 °F according to the seller
  • Same brand as the 30 ft hose in our comparison

Speaks against it

  • Inner diameter not stated in the listing
  • No certification body named for drinking water
  • No wattage, no manual and no manufacturer website found

VEVOR 50 ft: the budget choice with a narrower bore

VEVOR is a named brand that also sells through its own website, but we could not open its product page for this model, so the data comes from the listing title: 50 ft, a 1/2 in inner diameter, a built-in thermostat and a −45 °F figure. That rating is the seller's claim without a test method. No certifier is named for drinking water, and no wattage could be confirmed.

The bore is the real difference. A 1/2 in hose carries less water than a 5/8 in hose at the same pressure, and 50 ft of it adds more resistance than 25 ft. No flow figures are stated in the listing, and we did not research any. For a single faucet or a stock tank that fills slowly, that may not matter. For an RV with several taps in use, it can.

Speaks for it

  • Costs far less than the 50 ft Camco hose
  • Built-in thermostat (listing title)
  • Named brand with its own website

Speaks against it

  • 1/2 in bore instead of 5/8 in
  • −45 °F figure from the listing title, no test method named
  • No certifier named for drinking water, no wattage confirmed

Rules for a long run

The longer the hose, the more the hook-up rules matter. These come from the two manufacturers whose instructions we could read:

  • GFCI outlet, no extension cord. PIRIT: “Do not use extension cords.” Miller: “no extension cords”. Both require a grounded outlet with GFCI protection. The 2023 National Electrical Code requires GFCI protection for 15- and 20-ampere receptacles in RV site equipment; older parks may differ. A long hose does not make the cord longer, so the plug end has to sit near the outlet.
  • Thermostat in open air. PIRIT requires the thermostat to be exposed to ambient temperature, not in a heated or insulated compartment.
  • Water in the hose. Miller: “Do not leave plugged in without water.”
  • No added insulation unless the maker allows it. Miller: “Do not insulate the hose.”

A long hose also does nothing for the unheated ends. The spigot, regulator and inlet need their own protection; the guide on keeping an RV water hose from freezing shows how. For a garden or kennel run, the heated garden hose page looks at the house-spigot side.

Find your hose in four questions

Hose picker

Question 1 of 4

This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare

Where will the hose run?

The same hoses are sold for RV, garden and farm use. What changes is the length and what else has to be protected.

Bottom line

Fifty feet doubles the power draw and raises the price, so buy it only when the tape demands it. The Camco 22912* (paid link) is our 50 ft pick for its documented bore and warranty. The VEVOR 50 ft hose* (paid link) costs far less and has a 1/2 in bore according to its listing; like the REHOSEUP hose it rests on seller data only and is not a pick. For the wider picture across lengths, see the RV page and the comparison by spec sheet.

Questions people ask

How many watts does a 50 ft heated water hose use?

The PIRIT manual lists 360 W and 3.0 A at 120 V for its 50 ft hose, and Miller Manufacturing gives 360 W and 3 A for its DH50. That is double the 180 W both makers list for 25 ft. A thermostat hose draws this power only while it heats. Camco publishes no wattage for its 50 ft hose 22912, and none could be confirmed for the VEVOR hose.

Can I use a 50 ft heated water hose if I only need 30 ft?

It is not a good idea. The spare 20 ft must be laid out in full, because the PIRIT manual warns: do not leave plugged in while hose is coiled as this can cause the hose to overheat and melt. You also pay for and heat hose you do not need. Buy the shortest length that covers the measured run.

Is a 1/2 inch heated hose enough for an RV, or do I need 5/8 inch?

Both sizes are sold for RVs. A 1/2 in bore is narrower than 5/8 in, so it carries less water at the same pressure, and the difference grows with length. We did not research flow figures, and the listings state none. If you run a shower and a faucet at the same time over 50 ft, the 5/8 in hose is the cautious choice.

Why does a 50 ft Camco heated hose cost so much more than marketplace hoses?

The Camco 22912 sits in the premium price class, far above the budget 50 ft hoses. What you get in writing for that is a 5/8 in bore, a drinking-water and lead-free statement and a 3-year warranty with receipt on Camco's site. Whether the hose performs better was not measured by anyone we could cite.

Where this comes from

  1. PIRIT Heated Hose, care and use manual (Series V, PDF via Mor Electric Heating)
  2. Miller Manufacturing: heated hose help page (DH25, DH50)
  3. Camco: Heated Drinking Water Hose −20, 50 ft (part 22912)
  4. North Carolina Building Code Council: NEC 2023 section 551.71(F)(2), GFCI protection at RV sites

Compiled by

heatedwaterhoses.com Editorial Team

Spec sheets, manuals and electrical rules for winter water hook-ups

We are the editorial team at heatedwaterhoses.com. We read the manuals, spec sheets and listings of heated water hoses line by line, check drinking-water and electrical claims against primary sources such as the EPA and the National Electrical Code, and turn that into plain-English buying advice with sources on every page.

  • Manuals quoted with source
  • Watts and amps per the maker
  • Ratings labeled as maker claims
  • Compared by manufacturer data
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare