Buying guide
25 and 30 ft Heated Water Hoses: The Standard Length for Most RV Sites
A 25 ft heated water hose covers the hook-up at most RV sites and draws about 180 watts while it heats, according to PIRIT and Miller. Our pick is the Camco 22911. If the spigot sits a few feet too far away, a 30 ft hose is the better buy than a 25 ft hose under tension.
Disclosure: This page contains paid links to Amazon, marked with * or “paid link”. If you buy through them, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This site is financed by these commissions; products are selected by the criteria on our methodology page. How we compare · Learn more
The short version
Buy 25 ft if the run from spigot to inlet is about 23 ft or less. Our pick is the Camco 22911 with named drinking-water certifications; the RVGUARD 25 ft hose is the budget pick with published watts (7 W per foot). Thermostat hoses of this length draw 180 W and 1.5 A at 120 V (PIRIT, Miller). For runs of 24 to 28 ft, choose a 30 ft hose.
Why 25 ft is the standard
Twenty-five feet is the length most makers build and the one most RV sites need. It is also the length with the best data: two manufacturers publish its electrical figures, and three of the four hoses below have a manufacturer page that can be checked. A 25 foot heated water hose for an RV and a 25 ft heated garden hose are the same product; the homepage explains the names.
Camco 25 ft (22911)
AdCamco · Established brand
The 25 ft hose whose listing names its certifications and its certifiers.
Why here: At 25 ft it is the hose with the most in writing about what it is made of: an NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose and a CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372 in the listing, bore and warranty on Camco's own page.
Best for: RV sites where the spigot is within 25 ft and named drinking-water certifications matter more than the lowest price.
What speaks for it
- Listing names an NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose and CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372
- Thermostat-controlled heating cable that only heats as needed (listing)
- 5/8 in inner diameter
- Camco's own site lists a 3-year warranty with receipt
What to know first
- Camco publishes no wattage on its product pages
- Instruction sheet not available online: cord and insulation rules could not be checked
- Warranty is given as 1 year in the Amazon listing data and 3 years on camcooutdoors.com
- Costs clearly more than marketplace hoses of the same length
- Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Heat control
- thermostat-controlled cable (listing)
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI 61 hose, CSA lead-free to NSF/ANSI 372 (listing)
- Warranty
- 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com); 1 year in Amazon listing data
The pick is based on stated data, not on a trial; see how we compare. Its gaps: Camco publishes no wattage, the instruction sheet is not online, and the warranty reads “Limited 1 Year” in the Amazon listing data but 3 years with receipt on camcooutdoors.com.
Which 25 or 30 ft hose for whom
Pick by situation
If you named drinking-water certifications matter most → Camco 25 ft (22911)
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf the budget is tight and you want published watts → RVGUARD 25 ft
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a named brand with a −40 °F maker rating in the budget price class → Kohree 25 ft
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you 25 ft does not reach
Electrical data for 25 ft
- 180 W
- 25 ft hose (PIRIT manual, Miller DH25)
- 1.5 A
- Draw at 120 V
- 7 W/ft
- RVGUARD heating cable
- none
- Wattage published by Camco or Kohree
The PIRIT manual lists 180 W and 1.5 A at 120 V for a 25 ft hose, and Miller Manufacturing gives the same for its DH25. RVGUARD states 7 W per foot for its heating cable and no total. These figures describe those makers' hoses. For Camco, Kohree and REHOSEUP no wattage is published, and we do not estimate one.
A thermostat hose does not draw its rated power around the clock. PIRIT says the heater will not turn on unless the ambient temperature approaches freezing. Miller's hoses activate below 40 °F. RVGUARD gives 47 °F on and 60 °F off. The page on power use turns this into kilowatt-hours with your own electricity price.
Four hoses side by side
This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare
| Spec sheet | Our pickCamco 25 ft (22911) | Budget pickRVGUARD 25 ft | Kohree 25 ft | Seller data onlyREHOSEUP 30 ft |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Length | 25 ft | 25 ft | 25 ft | 30 ft |
| Rating (maker's claim) | −20 °F (Camco) | −20 °F (RVGUARD) | −40 °F (Kohree) | −45 °F (seller) |
| Inner diameter | 5/8 in | – | 5/8 in diameter named by Kohree, inner or outer not specified | – |
| Heat control | thermostat-controlled cable (listing) | thermostat, on at 47 °F, off at 60 °F (RVGUARD) | built-in thermostat (kohree.com) | – |
| Watts (maker) | not published by Camco | 7 W per ft (RVGUARD); no total published | not published by Kohree | not published |
| Certification named | NSF/ANSI 61 hose, CSA lead-free to NSF/ANSI 372 (listing) | none; “lead-free, BPA-free” per maker | NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 cited, no certifier named | none |
| Warranty | 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com); 1 year in Amazon listing data | 12 months (RVGUARD) | – | 1 year in the listing field; “3-year service” in the listing text |
| Price class | premium | budget | budget | mid-range |
| Best for | RV sites where the spigot is within 25 ft and named drinking-water certifications matter more than the lowest price. | Occasional cold-weather trips and garden use when the budget is tight and the maker's −20 °F claim is enough. | Buyers who want a colder maker rating than −20 °F without paying Camco prices. | Hook-ups of 26 to 30 ft when a middle price matters more than a named certifier. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
- Our pickCamco 25 ft (22911)
- Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Heat control
- thermostat-controlled cable (listing)
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Camco
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI 61 hose, CSA lead-free to NSF/ANSI 372 (listing)
- Warranty
- 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com); 1 year in Amazon listing data
- Price class
- premium
- Best for
- RV sites where the spigot is within 25 ft and named drinking-water certifications matter more than the lowest price.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Budget pickRVGUARD 25 ft
- Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (RVGUARD)
- Inner diameter
- –
- Heat control
- thermostat, on at 47 °F, off at 60 °F (RVGUARD)
- Watts (maker)
- 7 W per ft (RVGUARD); no total published
- Certification named
- none; “lead-free, BPA-free” per maker
- Warranty
- 12 months (RVGUARD)
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Occasional cold-weather trips and garden use when the budget is tight and the maker's −20 °F claim is enough.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −40 °F (Kohree)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in diameter named by Kohree, inner or outer not specified
- Heat control
- built-in thermostat (kohree.com)
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Kohree
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 cited, no certifier named
- Warranty
- –
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Buyers who want a colder maker rating than −20 °F without paying Camco prices.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon- Seller data onlyREHOSEUP 30 ft
- Length
- 30 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −45 °F (seller)
- Inner diameter
- –
- Heat control
- –
- Watts (maker)
- not published
- Certification named
- none
- Warranty
- 1 year in the listing field; “3-year service” in the listing text
- Price class
- mid-range
- Best for
- Hook-ups of 26 to 30 ft when a middle price matters more than a named certifier.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
The REHOSEUP 30 ft column is labeled “Seller data only”: everything in it comes from the Amazon listing, and the hose is shown for its length, not as a pick. A dash means that neither the maker nor the seller published a figure.
Camco 22911: the documented pick
Camco's own page confirms a 5/8 in inner diameter, the −20 °F claim, a statement that the hose is certified for drinking water and lead-free, and a warranty of 3 years from date of purchase with receipt. The Amazon listing adds the named certifications, a thermostat-controlled heating cable, a 6 ft power cord with LED plug and a maximum pressure of 100 psi. It is in the premium price class. The −20 °F figure is Camco's claim; no test method is named. The Camco page covers the brand's part numbers and its second line with the −40 °F figure.
RVGUARD 25 ft: the budget pick
RVGUARD publishes what most low-priced brands leave out: a 7 W per foot heating cable and thermostat switch points of 47 °F on and 60 °F off. The maker rates the hose to −20 °F, includes a 3/4 in GHT adapter and gives a 12-month guarantee. The inner hose is described as lead-free and BPA-free, without a certifier. The maker's page is silent on extension cords, GFCI and added insulation, so the PIRIT and Miller rules below are the cautious default.
Kohree 25 ft: named brand, colder maker rating
The brand has its own page: Kohree heated water hoses.
Kohree rates its hose to −40 °F and describes a built-in thermostat; its page names a 5/8 in diameter without saying whether that is the inner or the outer one. For lead content it cites NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 but names no certifier. No wattage and no warranty are stated on the maker's page. Choose it if a named brand in the budget price class appeals to you, not because of the number: a colder rating without a test method is not a measured advantage.
REHOSEUP 30 ft: when 25 ft is just too short
All data comes from the listing. The hose is rated to −45 °F according to the seller, the listing names no certification body, and the warranty appears as “3-year service” in the text and as one year in the warranty field. No wattage, no manual and no manufacturer website were found. It sits in the mid-range price class. Its role is narrow and useful: it reaches a pedestal that a 25 ft hose misses by a few feet.
25 or 30 ft: how to decide
Measure along the ground from the spigot to the inlet. Allow a little slack so the fittings carry no tension. As our rule of thumb, 25 ft suits runs up to about 23 ft, and 30 ft suits runs up to about 28 ft.
Do not round up for comfort. Three manufacturer statements argue for the shortest hose that fits:
- PIRIT: “Do not leave plugged in while hose is coiled as this can cause the hose to overheat and melt.” Spare length has to be laid out.
- PIRIT: “Do not use extension cords.” Miller: “no extension cords”. The hose's own cord must reach the GFCI outlet, so plan the position of the plug end too.
- Power draw rises with length: PIRIT lists 180 W for 25 ft and 360 W for 50 ft.
If even 30 ft is short, the next step is a 50 ft heated water hose. For a spigot only a few feet from the inlet, the short hoses on the RV page cost less and leave less hose on the ground.
Common mistakes with 25 ft hoses
- Measuring through the air. The hose lies on the ground and goes around the steps and the tire.
- Tucking the thermostat into a warm bay. PIRIT requires it to be exposed to ambient temperature; Miller wants outside air and shade.
- Wrapping the hose in extra insulation. Miller writes “Do not insulate the hose.” Insulate the spigot and riser instead; see insulated water hoses and pipe wrap.
- Expecting the hose to cover the spigot. PIRIT states the hose is NOT designed to provide freeze protection to the water supply. The guide on keeping an RV water hose from freezing deals with the unheated parts.
Find your hose in four questions
Hose picker
Question 1 of 4
This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare
Where will the hose run?
The same hoses are sold for RV, garden and farm use. What changes is the length and what else has to be protected.
Bottom line
At 25 ft the Camco 22911* (paid link) is our pick for its named certifications, and the RVGUARD hose* (paid link) is the budget pick with published electrical data. Take 30 ft only when the tape says so. All four hoses are set against other lengths in the comparison by spec sheet.
Questions people ask
How many watts does a 25 ft heated water hose use?
The PIRIT manual lists 180 W and 1.5 A at 120 V for its 25 ft hose. Miller Manufacturing gives the same figures for its DH25. RVGUARD states a 7 W per foot heating cable and publishes no total for the hose. A thermostat hose draws that power only while it heats. Camco and Kohree publish no wattage for their 25 ft hoses.
Is a 25 foot heated water hose long enough for an RV?
For most sites, yes, but measure instead of guessing. Run a tape along the ground from the campground spigot to the city-water inlet. If the run is about 23 ft or less, 25 ft reaches without tension. If it is a little longer, choose 30 ft. If the spigot is at the far end of the site, look at 50 ft hoses.
Should I buy a 30 ft heated water hose instead of 25 ft?
Only if you need the reach. Extra length costs more, and it must be laid out in full: the PIRIT manual warns not to leave a hose plugged in while it is coiled, because it can overheat and melt. The 30 ft hose in our comparison is documented by its listing alone, so you trade documentation for five feet.
Which 25 ft heated hose names a drinking-water certification?
Camco's listing for the 22911 names an NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose and a CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372. Kohree cites NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 for lead content without naming a certifier. RVGUARD says the inner hose is lead-free and BPA-free without naming one. The REHOSEUP listing names no certification body.
Where this comes from
Keep reading
- Buying guideRV & camperHeated RV water hoses by what the makers put in writing: which length fits your site, what the ratings mean, power draw at the pedestal and the hook-up rules.
- Buying guide50 ft50 ft heated water hoses for RV and garden: 360 watts and 3 amps per PIRIT and Miller, 5/8 in versus 1/2 in bore, price classes and the rules for a long run.
- Spec comparisonCompare by spec sheetWhich heated RV water hose is best? We compare what the makers put in writing: watts, ratings, certifiers, warranty and hook-up rules.
- Know-howPower useHow much electricity a heated water hose uses: 90 to 500 watts by length, per the PIRIT manual and Miller. With amps, the kWh formula and a cost calculator.
- Brand fileCamcoCamco heated water hoses in 12, 25 and 50 ft: part numbers 22910 to 22912, what Camco's site confirms, the listing-only −40 °F line and the two warranty figures.
- Buying guideGarden & homeA heated garden hose is the same product as a heated RV hose. Which length to buy for a greenhouse or coop, what makers demand of the outlet, what stays unheated.
Compiled by
heatedwaterhoses.com Editorial Team
Spec sheets, manuals and electrical rules for winter water hook-ups
We are the editorial team at heatedwaterhoses.com. We read the manuals, spec sheets and listings of heated water hoses line by line, check drinking-water and electrical claims against primary sources such as the EPA and the National Electrical Code, and turn that into plain-English buying advice with sources on every page.
- Manuals quoted with source
- Watts and amps per the maker
- Ratings labeled as maker claims
- Compared by manufacturer data
- Publisher details in the imprint