Buying guide
12 and 15 ft Heated Water Hoses: When a Short Hose Is the Better Choice
A 12 or 15 ft heated water hose is the right buy when the spigot stands within a few feet of the water inlet. It costs less than 25 ft, leaves no surplus to lay out and draws the least power: the PIRIT manual lists 90 watts for its 12 ft hose. Our short-run pick is the 12 ft Camco 22910. If 12 ft is a little short, the 15 ft hoses below add 3 ft.
Disclosure: This page contains paid links to Amazon, marked with * or “paid link”. If you buy through them, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This site is financed by these commissions; products are selected by the criteria on our methodology page. How we compare · Learn more
The short version
Buy 12 or 15 ft only if the measured path from spigot to inlet, including slack, fits. Our short-run pick is the Camco 22910 (12 ft, 5/8 in bore, 3-year warranty with receipt on Camco's site). At 15 ft, Kohree is the brand that lists the length on its own product page; the RVMATE 15 ft hose costs less but rests on seller data only and is not a pick. PIRIT gives 90 W and 0.75 A for 12 ft. Surplus hose must never stay coiled while plugged in.
When a short heated hose is the better choice
Most buyers reach for 25 ft because it is the standard length. On many sites that is more hose than the hook-up needs. If the pedestal stands right beside the city-water inlet, or the yard hydrant is a few steps from the trough, a short heated water hose does the same job with less of everything: less hose on the ground, less power, a lower price class.
Camco 12 ft (22910)
AdCamco · Established brand
Camco's shortest −20 °F hose for a spigot right next to the inlet.
Why here: It is the short hose with the most on the maker's own site: part number, a −20 °F line with a 5/8 in bore, USA as country of origin and a warranty of 3 years from date of purchase with receipt.
Best for: Sites where the pedestal stands within a few feet of the city-water inlet.
What speaks for it
- 5/8 in inner diameter (camcooutdoors.com)
- Shortest hose of the Camco −20 °F line
- Less hose to lay out straight
What to know first
- 12 ft does not reach on many sites: measure first
- No wattage published by Camco
- Instruction sheet not available online
- Length
- 12 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Camco
- Price class
- mid-range
The pick rests on stated data, not on a trial; the method is described on how we compare. Its gaps are the same as for every Camco hose: no wattage is published, the instruction sheet is not online, and the Amazon listing data gives the warranty as “Limited 1 Year” while camcooutdoors.com says 3 years.
Three manufacturer statements explain why short is better when it fits:
- Surplus cannot stay coiled. PIRIT: “To avoid possible overheating, do not leave hose coiled when plugged in.”
- Power grows with length. The PIRIT manual lists 90 W for 12 ft, 180 W for 25 ft and 360 W for 50 ft.
- A heated hose cannot be shortened. PIRIT: “Do not attempt to cut or splice hose”.
Which short hose for whom
Pick by situation
If the path is 11 ft or less and maker data matters most → Camco 12 ft (22910)
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you need 15 ft from a brand with its own product page → Kohree 15 ft
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf the path is longer than about 14 ft
Electrical data for short hoses
- 90 W
- 12 ft hose (PIRIT manual)
- 0.75 A
- Draw at 120 V (PIRIT manual)
- none
- Wattage published by Camco or Kohree
- GFCI
- Outlet required by PIRIT and Miller
The only manufacturer document with a figure for a short hose is the PIRIT manual: 90 W and 0.75 A at 120 V for 12 ft. No maker we could read publishes a figure for 15 ft. For the Camco, Kohree, RVMATE and REHOSEUP hoses there is no wattage from a maker document, and we do not estimate one. The RVMATE listing calls its hose UL Listed; that is a seller statement we could not check.
What these numbers mean on a monthly bill depends on how many hours the thermostat keeps the heater on. The page on power use has a calculator that works with the manufacturer figures and your own electricity rate.
Five short hoses side by side
This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare
| Spec sheet | Short-run pickCamco 12 ft (22910) | Seller data onlyRVMATE 15 ft | Kohree 15 ft | Seller data onlyREHOSEUP 15 ft | Seller data onlyCamco 12 ft (−40 °F line) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Length | 12 ft | 15 ft | 15 ft | 15 ft | 12 ft |
| Rating (maker's claim) | −20 °F (Camco) | −20 °F (seller) | −40 °F (Kohree) | −45 °F (seller) | −40 °F (listing title) |
| Inner diameter | 5/8 in | – | 5/8 in diameter named by Kohree, inner or outer not specified | not stated in the listing | 5/8 in (listing) |
| Heat control | – | – | built-in thermostat (kohree.com) | “self-regulating external thermostat” (seller) | self-regulating heating cable with thermostat (listing) |
| Watts (maker) | not published by Camco | not published | not published by Kohree | not published | not published |
| Certification named | – | none found | NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 cited, no certifier named | none | NSF-61 certified hose (listing), no certifier named |
| Warranty | – | – | – | “3-year service” in the listing text (seller) | – |
| Price class | mid-range | budget | budget | budget | – |
| Best for | Sites where the pedestal stands within a few feet of the city-water inlet. | Short hook-ups on a tight budget when 12 ft is a little too short. | Short hook-ups of 13 to 15 ft when a maker page you can read matters more than the lowest price. | Short hook-ups when the buyer wants the same listing family as the REHOSEUP 30 ft hose. | Short hook-ups where the buyer wants the colder figure from the Camco listing. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
- Short-run pickCamco 12 ft (22910)
- Length
- 12 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Heat control
- –
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Camco
- Certification named
- –
- Warranty
- –
- Price class
- mid-range
- Best for
- Sites where the pedestal stands within a few feet of the city-water inlet.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Seller data onlyRVMATE 15 ft
- Length
- 15 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (seller)
- Inner diameter
- –
- Heat control
- –
- Watts (maker)
- not published
- Certification named
- none found
- Warranty
- –
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Short hook-ups on a tight budget when 12 ft is a little too short.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Kohree 15 ft
- Length
- 15 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −40 °F (Kohree)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in diameter named by Kohree, inner or outer not specified
- Heat control
- built-in thermostat (kohree.com)
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Kohree
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 cited, no certifier named
- Warranty
- –
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Short hook-ups of 13 to 15 ft when a maker page you can read matters more than the lowest price.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Seller data onlyREHOSEUP 15 ft
- Length
- 15 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −45 °F (seller)
- Inner diameter
- not stated in the listing
- Heat control
- “self-regulating external thermostat” (seller)
- Watts (maker)
- not published
- Certification named
- none
- Warranty
- “3-year service” in the listing text (seller)
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Short hook-ups when the buyer wants the same listing family as the REHOSEUP 30 ft hose.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Seller data onlyCamco 12 ft (−40 °F line)
- Length
- 12 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −40 °F (listing title)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in (listing)
- Heat control
- self-regulating heating cable with thermostat (listing)
- Watts (maker)
- not published
- Certification named
- NSF-61 certified hose (listing), no certifier named
- Warranty
- –
- Price class
- –
- Best for
- Short hook-ups where the buyer wants the colder figure from the Camco listing.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
The columns labeled “Seller data only” (RVMATE, REHOSEUP and Camco's −40 °F hose) rest on Amazon listings alone. They are shown for comparison, not as picks.
A dash means that neither the maker nor the seller published a figure.
Camco 22910, 12 ft: the documented pick
The model has its own page with the data sorted by source: Camco 12 ft hose 22910.
Camco's own page for part 22910 carries the product name “Heated Drinking Water Hose -20, 12', 5/8"ID”, the mark cETLus, USA as country of origin and the 3-year warranty with receipt. It says that instructions come in English but does not show them. The Amazon listing adds what the page leaves out: an NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose, a CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372, a thermostat-controlled heating cable and a 6 ft power cord with LED indicator plug. Those are listing statements. The −20 °F figure is Camco's claim without a named test method. The hose sits in the mid-range price class, which is high for 12 ft and low for a Camco hose. The Camco brand page covers the whole line.
Its limit is the length itself: part of the 12 ft is used up by the rise at the spigot and at the inlet.
RVMATE 15 ft: the lower-priced alternative, listing data only
Everything known about this hose comes from its Amazon listing; we found no manufacturer website. According to the seller it is rated to −20 °F, has a thermostat, is lead- and phthalate-free and comes with a 3/4 in brass adapter and a 1-year warranty. The listing also asks buyers to “always use with a GFCI receptacle”, which matches what PIRIT and Miller require for their hoses. No certifier is named for the lead-free statement. It is in the budget price class and gives 3 ft more reach than the Camco hose.
Kohree 15 ft: a maker page you can read
Kohree's own product page lists the hose in several lengths, 12 and 15 ft among them. The maker states freeze protection down to −40 °F “under intended operating conditions”, a built-in thermostat and certification to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 lead-content requirements, without naming the certifying body. The page names a 5/8 in diameter without saying whether that is the bore. No wattage and no warranty are stated. The listing adds a maximum pressure of 450 psi and aluminum fittings as seller data. The colder rating is no reason by itself to choose it; see the note on ratings below.
REHOSEUP 15 ft: the short version of a widely sold hose
This is the 15 ft member of the listing family behind the REHOSEUP 30 ft hose on our 25 and 30 ft page. All data is seller data: −45 °F, a “self-regulating external thermostat”, double washers at both ends, 700 psi and a “3-year service” in the listing text. The listing names no certification body, no bore and no wattage. Choose it if you already know the family; on documentation it ranks behind the three hoses above.
Camco 12 ft, −40 °F line
Amazon also sells a 12 ft Camco hose with −40 °F in its title. We did not find this line on camcooutdoors.com on October 11, 2026, so all we know is listing data. It costs clearly more than part 22910. The comparison of Camco's −20 and −40 °F lines goes into the differences.
Ratings on short hoses: read them as claims
The five hoses carry three different figures: −20 °F, −40 °F and −45 °F. None of the listings or maker pages names a test method. A colder figure is therefore not a measured advantage, and we do not rank the hoses by it. The page on temperature ratings explains what such a figure does and does not tell you.
How to tell whether 12 or 15 ft is enough
Measure the path, not the gap. The hose runs down from the spigot, along the ground and up to the inlet, and it should lie without tension. PIRIT warns not to pull the hose with excessive force because that may damage the fittings and electronic components.
| Measured path including slack | Length to buy |
|---|---|
| Up to about 11 ft | 12 ft |
| 12 to 14 ft | 15 ft |
| 15 to about 23 ft | 25 ft |
These thresholds are this site's own rule of thumb: they leave a foot or two for the rise at both ends and for slack. No maker publishes such a table. Then check the power path: the cord of the hose has to reach a GFCI-protected outlet directly, because PIRIT writes “Do not use extension cords” and Miller “no extension cords”. On a short run the outlet is usually close, which is one more point for the short hose. The question page what length of heated hose do you need walks through the measuring in detail.
Common mistakes with short hoses
- Buying 12 ft for a 12 ft gap. The rise at both ends uses up part of the hose. Measure with a rope along the real path.
- Stretching the hose tight. Tension loads the fittings; a hose under strain is the wrong length.
- Adding a second hose when it turns out too short. Each heated hose needs its own outlet, and the coupling in the middle is unheated. One hose of the right length is the cleaner fix.
- Forgetting the unheated parts. The spigot and a pressure regulator sit inches from the hose and still get no heat from it. The heated RV water hose page shows the whole hook-up.
Find your hose in four questions
Hose picker
Question 1 of 4
This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare
Where will the hose run?
The same hoses are sold for RV, garden and farm use. What changes is the length and what else has to be protected.
Bottom line
For a spigot right beside the inlet, the Camco 22910* (paid link) is our short-run pick because its maker's page backs the basics. If you need 15 ft, the Kohree 15 ft hose* (paid link) is the one with a maker page behind it, and the RVMATE hose* (paid link) costs less but is known from seller data only and is not a pick. Anything longer belongs on the page for 25 and 30 ft hoses; the heated water hose overview sorts all lengths, and the comparison by spec sheet sets the brands against each other.
Questions people ask
How many watts does a 12 ft heated water hose use?
The PIRIT manual lists 90 W and 0.75 A at 120 V for its 12 ft hose, half of the 180 W it gives for 25 ft. That figure describes PIRIT's hose. Camco and Kohree publish no wattage for their short hoses. For the listing-only hoses there is no maker figure. A thermostat hose draws its power only while it heats.
Is a 10 ft heated water hose available?
We found no 10 ft heated hose from the brands we could check. The short lengths with data behind them are 12 ft (Camco part 22910, PIRIT's manual, Kohree's product page) and 15 ft (RVGUARD's and Kohree's product pages, several marketplace listings). If your run is 10 ft, a 12 ft hose is the nearest fit, and 2 ft of slack lie flat in a gentle curve.
Should I buy 12 ft or 15 ft?
Let the tape decide; the thresholds here are our own rule of thumb, not maker figures. Measure the path the hose will take: down the riser, along the ground, up to the inlet. If that comes to about 10 or 11 ft, 12 ft reaches without tension. Between 12 and 14 ft, take 15 ft. Above that, a 25 ft hose is the next step, and its extra length has to be laid out, not coiled.
Can I use a longer heated hose and leave the rest coiled up?
No. The PIRIT manual says: “Do not leave plugged in while hose is coiled as this can cause the hose to overheat and melt.” A hose that is longer than the run has to be laid out in full. That is the main reason to buy a short hose for a short run instead of a 25 ft hose for all cases.
Does a short heated hose protect the spigot next to it?
No. The PIRIT manual states that its hose is NOT designed to provide freeze protection to the water supply. Even on a 12 ft run, the spigot, its riser, a pressure regulator, a filter and the couplings stay unheated and need their own protection. A short run only means that less hose is exposed.
Where this comes from
- PIRIT Heated Hose, care and use manual (Series V, PDF via Mor Electric Heating)
- Camco: Heated Drinking Water Hose −20, 12 ft (part 22910)
- Kohree: heated RV drinking water hose (product page, lengths from 12 ft)
- RVGUARD: Heated Water Hose for RV (product page, 15 ft listed)
- Miller Manufacturing: heated hose help page (DH25, DH50)
Keep reading
- Buying guide25 & 30 ft25 ft and 30 ft heated water hoses compared by maker data: 180 watts and 1.5 amps, ratings as maker claims, named certifiers, warranty, and when 30 ft is better.
- Buying guideRV & camperHeated RV water hoses by what the makers put in writing: which length fits your site, what the ratings mean, power draw at the pedestal and the hook-up rules.
- Brand fileCamcoCamco heated water hoses in 12, 25 and 50 ft: part numbers 22910 to 22912, what Camco's site confirms, the listing-only −40 °F line and the two warranty figures.
- QuestionWhat Length of Heated Hose Do You Need?Measure from the spigot to the inlet along the hose's path, check where the outlet is, then buy the shortest heated hose that covers it. Surplus cannot stay coiled.
- Know-howPower useHow much electricity a heated water hose uses: 90 to 500 watts by length, per the PIRIT manual and Miller. With amps, the kWh formula and a cost calculator.
- Spec comparisonCompare by spec sheetWhich heated RV water hose is best? We compare what the makers put in writing: watts, ratings, certifiers, warranty and hook-up rules.
Compiled by
heatedwaterhoses.com Editorial Team
Spec sheets, manuals and electrical rules for winter water hook-ups
We are the editorial team at heatedwaterhoses.com. We read the manuals, spec sheets and listings of heated water hoses line by line, check drinking-water and electrical claims against primary sources such as the EPA and the National Electrical Code, and turn that into plain-English buying advice with sources on every page.
- Manuals quoted with source
- Watts and amps per the maker
- Ratings labeled as maker claims
- Compared by manufacturer data
- Publisher details in the imprint