Buying guide
Heated Drinking Water Hose: Which Models Name a Certification and Which Only Say Lead-Free
Nearly every heated hose is sold as a drinking water hose, but the claims behind that word differ. In our comparison only the Camco listing names both a standard and the bodies that certified it: an NSF/ANSI 61 hose and CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372. Kohree names a standard without a certifier. Most other hoses say lead-free or drinking water safe and stop there.
Disclosure: This page contains paid links to Amazon, marked with * or “paid link”. If you buy through them, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. This site is financed by these commissions; products are selected by the criteria on our methodology page. How we compare · Learn more
The short version
For a heated drinking water hose, our pick is the Camco 25 ft hose: its listing names NSF/ANSI 61 for the hose and a CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372, and Camco's site calls it certified for drinking water and lead-free. Kohree cites NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 without naming a certifier. RVGUARD, VEVOR and PIRIT state lead-free or drinking water safe without a standard. A claim without a named certifier is the seller's word.
One product, three names, very different paperwork
A heated drinking water hose for an RV, a heated potable water hose and a heated fresh water hose are the same product type as any other heated water hose; the homepage explains the names. What differs from hose to hose is how the drinking-water claim is backed. There are four levels, from strongest to weakest:
- A standard and a certifier are named. Someone other than the seller is said to have checked the hose, and you can ask that body.
- A standard is named, no certifier. You know what the claim refers to, but not who verified it.
- A description only: “lead-free”, “BPA-free”, “drinking water safe”, “food grade”.
- A certification word without a standard: “NSF Certified” and nothing more.
Camco 25 ft (22911)
AdCamco · Established brand
The 25 ft hose whose listing names its certifications and its certifiers.
Why here: It is the only hose in our comparison at level 1: the listing names NSF/ANSI 61 for the hose and a CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372, and Camco's own page says “Certified For Drinking Water & Lead-Free.”
Best for: RV sites where the spigot is within 25 ft and named drinking-water certifications matter more than the lowest price.
What speaks for it
- Listing names an NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose and CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372
- Thermostat-controlled heating cable that only heats as needed (listing)
- 5/8 in inner diameter
- Camco's own site lists a 3-year warranty with receipt
What to know first
- Camco publishes no wattage on its product pages
- Instruction sheet not available online: cord and insulation rules could not be checked
- Warranty is given as 1 year in the Amazon listing data and 3 years on camcooutdoors.com
- Costs clearly more than marketplace hoses of the same length
- Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Heat control
- thermostat-controlled cable (listing)
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI 61 hose, CSA lead-free to NSF/ANSI 372 (listing)
- Warranty
- 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com); 1 year in Amazon listing data
The pick rests on what is stated, not on a lab analysis of water; see how we compare. Two limits apply. The standard numbers and the certifier's name come from the Amazon listing, while Camco's own page uses the shorter wording. And Camco publishes no wattage and no instruction sheet online.
What the two standards and “lead free” mean
The two are not interchangeable, and they do not weigh the same. The EPA's guide to certification marks states: “In October 2017, NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 was updated to require compliance to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 for all products other than those exempted in the Safe Drinking Water Act.” A current certification to 61 therefore includes the lead requirement, while a listing that cites only 372 says nothing about leaching of other substances. A listing that says only “lead-free” cites neither. The page on NSF/ANSI 61, NSF/ANSI 372 and lead-free explains the labels and how to check a mark.
“Lead free” itself is a legal term in the United States. The EPA's page on section 1417 of the Safe Drinking Water Act defines it for pipes, pipe fittings, plumbing fittings and fixtures as “a weighted average of 0.25% lead calculated across the wetted surfaces.” Since September 2023, manufacturers and importers of such plumbing products must certify that they meet the requirement; the EPA's web page gives September 1, 2023, its guide to certification marks September 21, 2023. The EPA counts eight third-party certification bodies accredited for this in the United States and publishes a guide to their marks.
Two cautions apply. The EPA page does not mention hoses, and we make no statement on whether a given heated hose falls under that rule. And NSF's own pages on the two standards could not be opened when we checked, so the descriptions above follow the EPA's guide to certification marks, not a quote from NSF.
Who names what
| Hose | What is stated about drinking water | Who says it | Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Camco −20 °F line, 25 ft | NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose; CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372 | Amazon listing | 1 |
| Camco −20 °F line, 25 and 50 ft | “Certified For Drinking Water & Lead-Free”; “For Drinking Water and Lead-Free”; cETLus in the product name | camcooutdoors.com | 1 (with the listing) |
| Kohree | “certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 lead-content requirements” | kohree.com | 2 |
| YOLENY 75 ft | “constructed with NSF/ANSI 61”; lead-, BPA- and phthalate-free | listing (seller) | 2, by the seller |
| RVGUARD | lead-free, BPA-free inner hose | rvguardstore.com | 3 |
| VEVOR | “lead and BPA free” | listing title | 3 |
| PIRIT | “Drinking water safe.” | PIRIT manual | 3 |
| REHOSEUP | no certification body named | listing (seller) | 3 |
| TORVA 100 ft | “NSF Certified, Lead and BPA Free” | listing title (seller) | 4 |
Read the table as a record of claims on October 11, 2026, not as a ranking of water quality. A level 3 hose is not shown to be worse; its maker has simply given you nothing to verify. The cETLus mark in Camco's product name is a listing mark, and Camco's page does not say what it covers, so we do not count it as a drinking-water statement.
The hoses side by side
This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare
| Spec sheet | Our pickCamco 25 ft (22911) | 50 ft pickCamco 50 ft (22912) | Kohree 25 ft | Budget pickRVGUARD 25 ft |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Length | 25 ft | 50 ft | 25 ft | 25 ft |
| Rating (maker's claim) | −20 °F (Camco) | −20 °F (Camco) | −40 °F (Kohree) | −20 °F (RVGUARD) |
| Inner diameter | 5/8 in | 5/8 in | 5/8 in diameter named by Kohree, inner or outer not specified | – |
| Heat control | thermostat-controlled cable (listing) | – | built-in thermostat (kohree.com) | thermostat, on at 47 °F, off at 60 °F (RVGUARD) |
| Watts (maker) | not published by Camco | not published by Camco | not published by Kohree | 7 W per ft (RVGUARD); no total published |
| Certification named | NSF/ANSI 61 hose, CSA lead-free to NSF/ANSI 372 (listing) | – | NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 cited, no certifier named | none; “lead-free, BPA-free” per maker |
| Warranty | 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com); 1 year in Amazon listing data | 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com) | – | 12 months (RVGUARD) |
| Price class | premium | premium | budget | budget |
| Best for | RV sites where the spigot is within 25 ft and named drinking-water certifications matter more than the lowest price. | Long hook-ups at seasonal sites when you want the same brand and line as the 25 ft Camco hose. | Buyers who want a colder maker rating than −20 °F without paying Camco prices. | Occasional cold-weather trips and garden use when the budget is tight and the maker's −20 °F claim is enough. |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
- Our pickCamco 25 ft (22911)
- Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Heat control
- thermostat-controlled cable (listing)
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Camco
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI 61 hose, CSA lead-free to NSF/ANSI 372 (listing)
- Warranty
- 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com); 1 year in Amazon listing data
- Price class
- premium
- Best for
- RV sites where the spigot is within 25 ft and named drinking-water certifications matter more than the lowest price.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - 50 ft pickCamco 50 ft (22912)
- Length
- 50 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (Camco)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in
- Heat control
- –
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Camco
- Certification named
- –
- Warranty
- 3 years with receipt (camcooutdoors.com)
- Price class
- premium
- Best for
- Long hook-ups at seasonal sites when you want the same brand and line as the 25 ft Camco hose.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon - Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −40 °F (Kohree)
- Inner diameter
- 5/8 in diameter named by Kohree, inner or outer not specified
- Heat control
- built-in thermostat (kohree.com)
- Watts (maker)
- not published by Kohree
- Certification named
- NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 cited, no certifier named
- Warranty
- –
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Buyers who want a colder maker rating than −20 °F without paying Camco prices.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon- Budget pickRVGUARD 25 ft
- Length
- 25 ft
- Rating (maker's claim)
- −20 °F (RVGUARD)
- Inner diameter
- –
- Heat control
- thermostat, on at 47 °F, off at 60 °F (RVGUARD)
- Watts (maker)
- 7 W per ft (RVGUARD); no total published
- Certification named
- none; “lead-free, BPA-free” per maker
- Warranty
- 12 months (RVGUARD)
- Price class
- budget
- Best for
- Occasional cold-weather trips and garden use when the budget is tight and the maker's −20 °F claim is enough.
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
A dash means that neither the maker nor the seller published a figure.
Camco 25 ft and 50 ft: standard and certifiers named
The Camco 25 ft hose* (paid link) (part 22911) and the 50 ft hose (part 22912) belong to Camco's −20 °F line with a 5/8 in bore. Camco's site describes both as for drinking water and lead-free; the 25 ft listing adds the standard numbers and names CSA as the certifier of the lead-free claim. Camco's warranty is stated two ways: 3 years from date of purchase with receipt on camcooutdoors.com, Limited 1 Year in the Amazon listing data. Keep the receipt. Both hoses are in the premium price class. The Camco page has the full picture, and 50 ft heated water hoses compares the longer one with its rivals.
Kohree 25 ft: a standard, no certifier
Kohree's own page says the hose is certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 lead-content requirements. It does not say by whom, and it does not mention NSF/ANSI/CAN 61. That is a real step above “lead-free” as a bare word, because it tells you which requirement is meant. It sits below Camco because the checking body stays unnamed. Kohree gives −40 °F as its rating and publishes no wattage; the hose is in the budget price class.
RVGUARD 25 ft: a description
RVGUARD writes of a lead-free, BPA-free inner hose for clean, odorless potable water and lists no certification. In return, the maker states things Camco does not: 7 W per foot and thermostat switch points of 47 °F and 60 °F. If the electrical data matters more to you than a certifier, this is the budget alternative on the page about 25 and 30 ft hoses.
YOLENY, TORVA and PIRIT: longer hoses, weaker paperwork
Beyond 50 ft, no hose in our comparison names a certifier. The YOLENY 75 ft hose* (paid link) is described by its seller as constructed with NSF/ANSI 61, which names a standard but not a certification. The TORVA 100 ft title says “NSF Certified” without a standard. The PIRIT manual prints “Drinking water safe.” and nothing further. For a long run to a kennel or a stock tank that may be enough; for the water you drink every day at a seasonal site, ask the seller for the certifier's name and the listing number before you order.
Which hose for whom
Pick by situation
If a named standard and certifier matter most, run up to 25 ft → Camco 25 ft (22911)
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf the same line is needed for a run up to 50 ft → Camco 50 ft (22912)
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf a named lead-content standard is enough and the budget is tight → Kohree 25 ft
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you stated watts and switch points matter more than a certifier → RVGUARD 25 ft
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want all criteria side by side
How to check a claim yourself
- Look for a name, not an adjective. “Certified” needs a standard number and a body next to it.
- Look at the hose and the box when it arrives. A certification body's mark is something you can see. If the listing promised one and nothing is printed anywhere, ask the seller.
- Ask the certifier. Certification bodies keep public listings of what they have certified. A product that is really listed can be found there under the maker's name.
- Separate the hose from the hook-up. The hose is one wetted part among several. The pressure regulator, the filter and the fittings touch the same water and carry their own claims, or none; see where the pressure regulator and filter go.
- Keep the standard hook-up rules. A drinking-water claim says nothing about electricity. The rules for outlets and cords are on the page about heated RV water hoses.
Typical mistakes
- Treating “NSF” in a title as a certification. Without a standard and a listing it is a word.
- Treating NSF 372 as a full drinking-water approval. It concerns lead content only; the leachate requirements belong to NSF/ANSI/CAN 61.
- Assuming the blue hose color means anything. Color is not a standard.
- Buying by the drinking-water claim and ignoring length. A certified hose that is 20 ft too long still has to be laid out uncoiled.
Find your hose in four questions
Hose picker
Question 1 of 4
This selection covers only products sold on Amazon. It is not a market overview. Products are compared by manufacturer and listing data, not by hands-on testing. How we compare
Where will the hose run?
The same hoses are sold for RV, garden and farm use. What changes is the length and what else has to be protected.
Bottom line
If the drinking-water claim is your first criterion, buy the hose that names its checker: the Camco 25 ft hose* (paid link), or its 50 ft sibling for longer runs. Kohree is the lower-priced step below, with a standard but no certifier. Everything else in the comparison asks you to take “lead-free” on the seller's word.
Questions people ask
Are heated RV water hoses safe for drinking water?
They are sold for it, and the same hoses are named heated drinking water hose, heated RV water hose and heated garden hose. How well the claim is backed differs. Camco's listing names a standard and certifiers, Kohree names a standard, and many marketplace hoses only say lead-free and BPA-free. No health promise can be made from a listing; a named certifier is the part of the claim you can check.
What is the difference between NSF 61 and NSF 372?
They cover two different things. NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 is about what a product gives off into the water it touches. NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 is about how much lead the product's wetted surfaces contain. They do not weigh the same: according to the EPA's guide to certification marks, NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 has required compliance with NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 since October 2017, so only 372 can stand without the other. The Camco listing names both: an NSF/ANSI 61 certified hose and a CSA lead-free certification to NSF/ANSI 372.
What does lead-free mean on a water hose?
In US drinking-water law the term has a fixed meaning for plumbing products: a weighted average of not more than 0.25% lead across the wetted surfaces of pipes, fittings and fixtures, according to the EPA's page on section 1417 of the Safe Drinking Water Act. On a hose listing, lead-free is the seller's description unless a certifier is named next to it.
Is a heated potable water hose different from a heated fresh water hose?
No. Potable, fresh water and drinking water are three labels for the same claim, and RV makers and sellers use them interchangeably. None of the three words is itself a certification. Look past the label to what is named: a standard number, a certifying body, or nothing.
Does a heated hose make the water taste like plastic?
Several listings promise that it will not, and no maker document we read gives a way to measure it. A leaching standard such as NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 deals with what a product releases into water, not with taste as such. We make no taste claim for any hose. Makers' general advice for heated hoses is to drain the hose when it is not in use.
Is there a 50 ft or 100 ft heated drinking water hose with a named certification?
At 50 ft, the Camco hose (part 22912) is described on Camco's own site as for drinking water and lead-free. At 100 ft, no hose in our comparison names a certifier: the TORVA title says NSF Certified without a standard, and the PIRIT manual says drinking water safe without one. Camco's site showed no 100 ft heated hose on October 11, 2026.
Where this comes from
- EPA: use of lead free pipes, fittings, fixtures, solder and flux for drinking water
- EPA: How to Identify Lead Free Certification Marks for Pipes, Fittings, Fixtures, Solder, and Flux Used for Drinking Water (guide, revised June 2024, PDF)
- Camco: Heated Drinking Water Hose −20, 25 ft (part 22911)
- Camco: Heated Drinking Water Hose −20, 50 ft (part 22912)
- Kohree: heated RV drinking water hose (product page)
- PIRIT Heated Hose, care and use manual (Series V, PDF via Mor Electric Heating)
Keep reading
- Know-howNSF 61 & lead-freeWhat lead-free, NSF/ANSI 61, NSF/ANSI 372 and BPA-free mean on a water hose, who certifies them, and how to check a mark with the EPA's guide to certification marks.
- Buying guideRV & camperHeated RV water hoses by what the makers put in writing: which length fits your site, what the ratings mean, power draw at the pedestal and the hook-up rules.
- Brand fileCamcoCamco heated water hoses in 12, 25 and 50 ft: part numbers 22910 to 22912, what Camco's site confirms, the listing-only −40 °F line and the two warranty figures.
- Spec comparisonCompare by spec sheetWhich heated RV water hose is best? We compare what the makers put in writing: watts, ratings, certifiers, warranty and hook-up rules.
- Buying guide25 & 30 ft25 ft and 30 ft heated water hoses compared by maker data: 180 watts and 1.5 amps, ratings as maker claims, named certifiers, warranty, and when 30 ft is better.
- Buying guide50 ft50 ft heated water hoses for RV and garden: 360 watts and 3 amps per PIRIT and Miller, 5/8 in versus 1/2 in bore, price classes and the rules for a long run.
Compiled by
heatedwaterhoses.com Editorial Team
Spec sheets, manuals and electrical rules for winter water hook-ups
We are the editorial team at heatedwaterhoses.com. We read the manuals, spec sheets and listings of heated water hoses line by line, check drinking-water and electrical claims against primary sources such as the EPA and the National Electrical Code, and turn that into plain-English buying advice with sources on every page.
- Manuals quoted with source
- Watts and amps per the maker
- Ratings labeled as maker claims
- Compared by manufacturer data
- Publisher details in the imprint